Joy: Unexpected gifts

My sweet 7-year-old burst through the door after walking home from school. “MOM! I got you a PRESENT!” (pause while he dug through his backpack, then:) “I found it on the way home from school, and I asked the people who lived in the house on that yard if it was theirs and they said no and that I could KEEP it!!!”

He proudly presented me with this plastic bird. I tried to match his enthusiasm in my receipt. I’m sure I fell short.

Son: “I know how you like pets that are quiet and not messy, so when I saw this, I knew it would be PERFECT for you.”

Hard to beat a perfectly-given gift, eh? I hung the bird (with fishing line…by its neck…shhhh) in an empty decorative bird cage and felt joy.

Tagged , ,

Leave a Reply

